About us



Prof. Renato Renner
HIT K 41.2
+41 44 633 34 58

Deputy Head

Prof. Manfred Sigrist
HIT K 23.8
+41 44 633 25 84

HIT K 13.2
+41 44 633 25 70/71/74

The Institute for Theoretical Physics ITP was founded in 1928 and today employs about 100 staff. The institute counts nine permanent professors (C. Anastasiou, N. Beisert, G. Blatter, M. Gaberdiel, G.M. Graf, R. Renner, T. Schulthess, M. Sigrist, and M. Troyer) and three permanent senior researchers (P. de Forcrand, V. Geshkenbein and D. W├╝rtz). After the implementation of the tenure track system, C. Anastasiou and R. Renner have been the first members of institute faculties following this career track successfully. Furthermore, the ITP presently hosts three Swiss Nationalfonds (SNF) professors on the non-tenure track assistant professor level (M. Christandl, A. Gehrmann and S. Huber). SNF professors have been affiliated with the ITP since quite some years and some of them have moved on to faculty positions at other institutions (H. Katzgraber at the Texas A&M University and P. Werner at the University of Fribourg). The ITP hosts also two Ambizione Fellows of the SNF, Philipp Corboz (since 2011) and Sebastian Schmidt (since 2012).


HIT Building
The offices of the Institute for Theoretical Physics are located in the HIT building on the Campus Hoenggerberg.


Wichtiger Hinweis:
Diese Website wird in älteren Versionen von Netscape ohne graphische Elemente dargestellt. Die Funktionalität der Website ist aber trotzdem gewährleistet. Wenn Sie diese Website regelmässig benutzen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, auf Ihrem Computer einen aktuellen Browser zu installieren. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf
folgender Seite.

Important Note:
The content in this site is accessible to any browser or Internet device, however, some graphics will display correctly only in the newer versions of Netscape. To get the most out of our site we suggest you upgrade to a newer browser.
More information

© 2015 ETH Zurich | Imprint | Disclaimer | 1 March 2013